Menu

Texas Independence Trail Region

Participant in the Texas Historical Commission's
Texas Heritage Trails Program

San Antonio : Steves Homestead Museum


THE MANSION THAT LUMBER BUILT

The Steves Homestead Museum showcases the immense wealth of lumber baron Edward Steves, founder of the Steves Lumber Company, who built the three story mansion and out buildings along the banks of the San Antonio River in 1876. Possibly designed by local architect Alfred Giles, the Steves mansion is constructed of ashlar limestone (meaning “precisely cut and finished” but known to masons as “peck work”) with a mansard roof decorated in iron cresting, characteristics of the French Second Empire and Italian Villa styles. The Homestead’s out buildings include a natatorium (indoor swimming pool), considered to be possibly one of the first of its kind in San Antonio, a brick-lined bit of luxury once filled with artesian well water. The two-story Carriage House, built a year before the mansion, served as storage during the mansion’s construction. Once the mansion was complete, servants’ quarters were necessary in order to house the full-time gardener and a “stable boy”. Steves arrived in Texas from Germany in 1849 at the age of twenty, sailing on the Neptune and disembarking at Galveston. Twenty years later his four-acre San Antonio lumber yard alongside the railroad served businesses from Mexico to far west Texas. The Homestead, built in San Antonio’s elegant King William District and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, served as a family residence until the 1950s when Steves’ descendants made the property a gift to the San Antonio Conservation Society who transformed it into the museum we see today.


Location

  • 509 King William
  • San Antonio , Texas
  • 78204

Contact

Hours & Fees

  • Daily, 10 a.m.- 3:30 p.m.

  • Self-guided tours - Adults: $7.50, Seniors 65+, active military, students: $5, Children under 12: Free

     


Map