Texas Independence Trail Region

Participant in the Texas Historical Commission's
Texas Heritage Trails Program

Port Lavaca: Calhoun County Courthouse

"On April 4, 1846, Calhoun County was formed from parts of Victoria, Jackson and Matagorda counties and named for John C. Calhoun of South Carolina, who had advocated Texas statehood."


  • 211 S Ann St
  • Port Lavaca, Texas
  • 77979


Hours & Fees

  • Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

  • Free


"Lavaca was the first county seat. But, as a result of the development of the Indianola Railroad, ..., and a shift of population, Indianola became more important and was made county seat in 1852. A fire in 1867 destroyed buildings at Indianola, and a yellow fever epidemic reduced the population. In 1875 a Gulf storm brought heavy damage to Indianola, which recovered only briefly before a tidal wave virtually destroyed the community in 1886. Lavaca, renamed Port Lavaca, became the county seat again in 1887, the post office and courthouse were moved there, and Indianola was never rebuilt." - Diana J. Kleiner, "CALHOUN COUNTY," Handbook of Texas Online